Mike Walsh, CF APMP, Receives William C. McRae Founder’s Award

APMP's 2020 Chair Honored at BPC Denver

  • remove_red_eye105 views
  • comment0 comments

The William C. McRae Founder’s Award is a rare honor reserved for the most accomplished and distinguished APMP members. The award is in honor of William C. McRae, one of APMP’s founding members.

The association’s CEO gives the William C. McRae Founder’s Award to members who have demonstrated exceptional abilities and qualities to move the industry forward through their actions by:

  • Exhibiting unselfish leadership
  • Contributing significant hours of exceptional volunteerism
  • Mentoring others with their APMP Certification
  • Providing unique industry thought leadership
  • Putting the industry above their accomplishments

This honor has been awarded only 10 times in the history of APMP. This year’s recipient is APMP Past Chair Mike Walsh, CF APMP. He was recognized at Bid & Proposal Con in Denver, Tuesday, Oct. 12.

“There are few more deserving of this award than Mike Walsh,” said APMP CEO Rick Harris, CP APMP. “During last year’s pandemic, like many organizations, APMP suddenly found itself without a large portion of expected event revenue. While other associations cut staff to save expenses, or shut down operations completely, Mike had another plan: reduce expenses where needed and double down on the things most important to APMP — that included membership and becoming experts in producing online events.

“Mike worked with the APMP Board and staff every day of the pandemic to help APMP not only survive but to thrive,” Harris continued. “He was an unsung hero of our industry who took a problem head-on, protected APMP’s interests and helped us get through some of our potentially darkest days due to COVID-19. And he did so without the spotlight or industry accolades. The McRae Founder’s Award is made for a guy like Mike Walsh, and it is an honor to award it to him.”

APMP congratulates Mike Walsh on this milestone achievement.

Follow the BPC 2021 conversation on LinkedIn and Twitter using the #ProudToBeAPMP hashtag.

Join the Conversation